Waterfowl Access Plan
President’s message – George Vandel, Pierre
June 9, 2020

In cooperation with the SD Wildlife Federation, Bill Koupal and I helped draft a waterfowl access proposal.  We also consulted with a select few SDWA members for their input.  The timing sucked as we wanted to present the plan to the GFP Commission prior to their June meeting.  I apologize to our Board and our members for not sharing the draft with you sooner.  I would certainly invite your input, opinions and suggestions.  As in the past, let me know what you think.

Click here to download/view draft document (PDF)

In addition to the GFP Commission we shared the draft with GFP staff and a representative with the Governor’s office.  It’s still a draft – a work in progress. So far the reaction has been positive.  The actual plan should be developed by GFP staff and approved by the GFP Commission.  One no-compromise issue is that we intend to be fully part of the planning process.  I also promise to do better at keeping you informed.

We have been invited to a zoom meeting with key GFP staff on June 10th to hopefully get this thing off the ground.

On a side note – the results of the June legislative primary gives us some reason for optimism.  There will be a lot of fresh faces in the Capitol next January.  Get to know your legislative candidates for the November election and feel free to ask them some tough questions about our issues – specifically about any ideas they may have to increase nonresident waterfowl license numbers.

Give me a call, text (605-295-2880) or e-mail (gvan3@pie.midco.net) if you have questions, opinions or want to visit about this.

Our main issues 1) expand and increase quality waterfowl hunting access opportunities in South Dakota 2) maintain quality waterfowl hunting in our state by balancing nonresident waterfowl hunter numbers such that they not create undue conflicts with resident waterfowl hunters and 3) ensure that commercialization of waterfowl hunting in South Dakota remains low.

Board: John Simpson – Pierre, Spencer Vaa – Brookings, Tom Yseth – Brookings and Bill Koupal – Pierre.  Bobby Cox will serve as Secretary Treasurer and Chuck Dieter will serve as Past-president.