President’s message – George Vandel, Pierre
February 13, 2020

SB 150, the bill to significantly increase nonresident waterfowl hunting opportunity has been scheduled for committee action.  It will be heard in the Senate Agriculture and Natural Resource Committee (room 412) scheduled for 10 am on Tues. Feb. 18th.  I apologize for the short notice but it was just posted this morning.

I now need all of you to do two things: 1) Contact each member of the Committee, indicate your opposition to SB 150 and urge them to vote no.  2) If at all possible, plan to attend the Committee meeting and testify as an opponent.  It is very important that we pack the Committee hearing room with as many members as we can.

The time for you to become involved on this issue is now.  I can’t possibly do this alone and you need to get involved for us to kill this bill.

The Senate Ag and Natural Committee members are as follows:

Gary Cammack, UnionCenter
Ph: 985-5591 or 985-5592
e-mail: gary@cammackranchsupply.com

Rocky Blair, Ideal
Ph: 842-1617 or 842-3260
e-mail: rockyblare@gmail.com

Bob Ewing, Spearfish
Ph: 641-9095 or 722-5559
e-mail: grnmtn1954@rushmore.com

Red Dawn Foster, Pine Ridge
Ph: 773-3821
e-mail: reddawn.foster@sdlegislature.gov

Troy Heinert, Mission
Ph; 319-6570 or 856-2200
e-mail: troyheinert@yahoo.com

Joshua Klumb, Mount Vernon
Ph: 770-9708
e-mail: joshua.klumb@sdlegislature.gov

Ernie Otten, Tea
Ph: 368-5716
e-mail: ernie.otten@gmail.com

Deb Soholt, Sioux Falls
Ph: 321-5931
e-mail: deb.soholt@sdlegislature.gov

Jordan Youngberg, Madison
Ph: 254-3051
e-mail: jry067@yahoo.com

Note that Gary Cammack is the Chair and a sponsor of SB 150

I have included a file for you to use when contacting legislators. (Click here to download/view document pdf).   It has two sections.  The first are points to make in 30 seconds – in a brief phone call, e-mail or text.  The second is to use if you go to a local cracker barrel and/or you have more time for a detailed discussion.  A word of advice, feel free to let them know you are mad about this bill just please don’t act mad.  Be blunt but polite.  Do not cut and paste these points – try to put them in your own words and individualize each response.

Call or text me at 605-295-2880 or e-mail me direct at gvan3@pie.midco.net if you have questions.

It still appears that some of us are behind in our dues.  Unless you specifically know you have recently sent in a renewal check, please send Bobby a check for $25 (3-year membership) to:
Bobby Cox
PO Box 712
Ipswich, SD 57451

You can call or text Bobby if you have questions about your dues at (605) 380-7327.

Finally, visit with your duck hunting friends about SDWA.  If they are not members, ask them to join – it’s easy.

Our main issues 1) expand and increase quality waterfowl hunting access opportunities in South Dakota 2) maintain quality waterfowl hunting in our state by balancing nonresident waterfowl hunter numbers such that they not create undue conflicts with resident waterfowl hunters and 3) ensure that commercialization of waterfowl hunting in South Dakota remains low.

Board: John Simpson – Pierre, Spencer Vaa – Brookings, Tom Yseth – Brookings and Bill Koupal – Pierre.  Bobby Cox will serve as Secretary Treasurer and Chuck Dieter will serve as Past-president.