For your review and information, I have attached a letter and fact sheet regarding the Pierre area refuge expansion.  Individual, identical letters were mailed to all 8 GFP Commissioners, Secretary Kevin Robling and Wildlife Director Tom Kirschenmann.

Please take the time to comment on this issue (

Note the deadline to submit comments is on Sunday February 27th. The Commission meeting is in Pierre at the Missouri River Events Center (217 W Missouri Ave).  The public hearing begins at 2 pm.  Hope to see some of you there!  Call me at 605-295-2880 if you have questions.

Our main issues 1) expanding and increasing quality waterfowl hunting access opportunities in South Dakota 2) maintaining quality waterfowl hunting in our state by balancing nonresident waterfowl hunter numbers such that they do not create undue conflicts with resident waterfowl hunters and 3) to ensure that commercialization of waterfowl hunting in South Dakota remains low.

Board: John Simpson – Pierre, Spencer Vaa – Brookings, Tom Yseth – Brookings and Bill Koupal – Pierre.  Bobby Cox will serve as Secretary Treasurer and Chuck Dieter will serve as Past-president.